Dietrich School Student Ambassadors

2022-2023 Student Ambassadors

Ambassadors share their experiences in the Dietrich School of Arts & Sciences with prospective students, current University of Pittsburgh students and the university community. You'll get to know our student ambassadors in videos, webinars, and hopefully on campus! Ask them about their clubs, courses, campus life and more by reaching out to artsci@pitt.edu


Sindhuja Avadhanula

Me in a few words:  "A Menace to all the thinkers!"

Bio:  Hi Everyone! My name is Sindhuja Avadhanula and am from Bear, Delaware. I am following the pre-law track: majoring in Sociology with minors in GSWS and Legal Studies; certificate in Children’s Literature and pursuing the service distinction. Other than with the ambassadors, I will most likely be found in the PittServes office and the Residence Life Office. My favorite place in Pittsburgh is Uzima which is right here in Oakland! 


Righteous Caldwell

Me in a few words:  "An ambitious, outgoing, & open minded humanitarian"

Bio:  Hey everybody! My name is Righteous Caldwell, originally from Atlanta, Georgia, majoring in Law, Criminal Justice, & Society (LCJS). I’m also triple minoring in Sociology, Economics, & Political Science. Around campus I’m involved in a social and professional fraternity, student government, and also the president of Greek Week. My favorite thing to do in Pittsburgh is go to the different sporting events around the city. Whether it be the Panthers, Pirates, Penguins, Steelers, or Riverhounds, Pittsburgh offers so many different kinds of entertainment, just within sports!


Cynthia Cheng

Me in a few words:  "Psychology, sociology, research, fraternity and sorority, campus activities, mentorship"

Bio:  Hi all! My name is Cynthia! I am from Cherry Hill, New Jersey. I'm majoring in psychology and sociology. I'm heavily involved in the Pitt Program Council, New Student Ambassadors, Community Service, and Fraternity and Sorority Life. My favorite event on campus are the trips I plan as the Pitt Program Council Recreation Director such as ziplining, skiing, and kayaking!


Luciana De Jesus

Me in a few words:  "Unexpected Brainiac and Resident Pop-Culture Historian"

Bio:  Hi! My name is Luciana De Jesus and I am from Cincinnati, Ohio. I’m double majoring in Classics and Gender, Sexuality, and Women’s Studies and am involved with the Pitt Ballet Club as well as the Latinx Student Association (LSA) on campus! One of my favorite things to do in Pittsburgh is visit nearby museums and conservatories. My two favorites are the Carnegie Museum of Art and Phipps Botanical Garden.


Jordyn Drummond

Me in a few words:  "Avid reader, compassionate, open minded, and versatile"

Bio:  Hey y'all! My name is Jordyn, and I'm from Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. I'm a double major in psychology and communications with a minor in education. I'm involved in the Psychology club, Animal Lovers club and a gender inclusive service fraternity. One of my favorite places on campus is Saxbys, a student run coffee shop in Hillman and Cathy!


Jackson Filosa

Me in a few words:  "Jackson of all trades, master of puns"

Bio:  Hey everyone! My name is Jackson and I'm originally from just outside of Boston, Massachusetts. I'm double majoring in statistics and English writing- I'm really passionate about using data to solve problems and communicating the results in a meaningful way. Outside of class I'm involved in Pittsburgh DataWorks, where I mentor high school teams about community-focused data analysis projects, the Incline Consulting Group, a student run organization that works with non-profits around Pittsburgh, and Phi Sigma Pi, a co-ed honors fraternity that organizes frequent social and service events around campus. I also love to stay active through intramural sports like soccer and volleyball, as well as at Schenley Park in the vibrant Pittsburgh Pickleball community!


Maddy Gallardo

Me in a few words:  "Communicator, media analyst, artist, film lover"

Bio:  Hi everyone! My name is Maddy, and I’m a senior, studying communication with a certificate in digital media. I’m originally from Mechanicsburg, PA, just about 3 hours from Pittsburgh. Outside of class, you can find me hammocking outside Schenley Plaza or going to explore all the different neighborhoods surrounding campus, like Shadyside or Lawrenceville. Next time you find yourself in Shadyside craving some authentic pizza and gelato, I recommend going to Mercurio’s, which is one of my all-time favorite restaurants here.


Henry Gifford

Me in a few words"Ambitious, funny, pop-fanatic, and carefully carefree"

Bio:  Hi! I’m Henry from Jenkintown, Pennsylvania, a short car ride from Philly. I’m a psychology major also minoring in neuroscience and sociology, and around campus, I am involved in The Imagination Project and research on and off campus. My favorite place to eat in Pittsburgh is probably Noodlehead in Shadyside (the Kee Mao is absolutely insane, 10/10 recommend).


PrimaDoris Ngumah

Me in a few words:  "I’m a determined and ambitious go-getter!" 

Bio:  Hi everyone! My name is PrimaDoris, but everyone calls me Prima. I am originally from Nigeria, but I grew up in Alabama, Texas, and currently live in Fanwood, New Jersey. I’m majoring in Psychology with minors in Africana Studies and Chemistry and a certificate in Conceptual Foundations of Medicine, and I’m on the premed track. In addition to being a DSA ambassador, I am a Study Lab peer tutor and Undergraduate Academic Coach, I am the co-chair of POMS (Premedical Organization for Minority Students) shadowing committee, and I am Pitt to You Ambassador for international students! One of my favorite places to go in Pittsburgh is Point State Park. It is a beautiful park, right on the Allegheny River, with a beautiful view, and perfect for a picnic or a nice outdoor stroll with friends.


Katie Oppenheimer

Me in a few words:  "A curious, optimistic, work in progress"

Bio:  Hi! I’m Katie and I’m from Portland, Oregon (which usually joins Pittsburgh on the top 10 most rainy cities, so I’ve always felt right at home in PGH). I’m a Microbiology major and am minoring in Chemistry as well as Gender, Sexuality, and Women Studies. Outside of class, you’ll probably find me working in lab (likely running a gel or doing some confocal microscopy) or studying with friends in a coffee shop. I also volunteer at UPMC Shadyside Hospital as part of the HELP program and tutor adults seeking to improve their English literacy as part of Literacy Pittsburgh. One of my favorite things to do in Pittsburgh is to go to the Bloomfield farmer’s market. They always have live music and the most amazing food. Plus it’s a great way to support local businesses and get to know the community better!


Adithya Sreenivas

Me in a few words:  "Outgoing, love exploring, and aspiring physician"

Bio:  Hello! My name is Adithya (Adi) Sreenivas, and I am from Cleveland, Ohio. I'm currently a senior at Pitt, studying Biological Sciences with a minor in Chemistry, on the Pre-med track. At Pitt, I am a Patient Care Technician for UPMC and a Trio SSS Scholar Tutor. My favorite places in Pittsburgh are Point State Park and Mount Washington.


Bella Tang

Me in a few words:  "Different academic plans every single semester"

Bio:  Hi everyone, my name is Bella Tang and I am originally from Scranton, PA. I am a senior at Pitt double majoring in History and Philosophy minoring in Economics and pursuing a certificate in Medieval and Renaissance Studies. In my free time I like to explore the different neighborhoods of Pittsburgh trying out new restaurants and activities and I just recently began volunteering on an urban farm in Pittsburgh!